Blue Moons 1910 to 1919

From 1910 to 1919 there were eight blue moons. Two full moons in one month is the most common blue moon definition. The other type of blue moon occurs when a season has an extra full moon. A seasonal blue moon is the third full moon in a season which has four full moons.

Between 1910 and 1919 there was a blue moon in 1910, 1912, and 1913, 3 blue moons in 1915, and then a blue moon in 1917 and 1918. 1911, 1914, 1916, and 1919 did not have a blue moon.

Interested in learning more about the 1910 to 1919 Blue Moons, check out the calendar below.

Blue watercolor of the moon for the dates of the 1910 to 1919 blue moons

The dates and times provided by NASA for the United States (USA) Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) timezones. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time for reference. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local timezone may be different, the exact dates may shift for your calendar.

1910 Seasonal Blue Moon

The 1910 seasonal blue moon was on August 20, 1910 2:14 PM EST or 7:14 PM UTC. Summer 1910 had four full moons. The August 1910 full moon was the third full moon of the season, making it a seasonal blue moon. The August 20th full moon was the eighth full moon of the year and the blue moon in Aquarius.

Summer 1910 Full Moons

Summer began in the morning on June 22nd and ended on September 23rd in 1910. The four full moons of Summer 1910 were on:

  1. June 22, 1910 3:11 PM EST or 8:11 PM UTC
  2. July 22, 1910 3:37 AM EST or 8:37 AM UTC
  3. August 20, 1910 2:14 PM EST or 7:14 PM UTC
  4. September 18, 1910 11:52 PM EST or 4:52 AM UTC

August 1910 Seasonal Blue Moon Phases

The Lunar Phases for the 1910 Seasonal Blue Moon were:

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (US Eastern)UTC Date & Time
New MoonAugust 5, 1910 1:37 AM ESTAugust 5, 1910 6:37 AM UTC
First QuarterAugust 12, 1910 9:01 PM ESTAugust 13, 1910 2:01 AM UTC
Full MoonAugust 20, 1910 2:14 PM ESTAugust 20, 1910 7:14 PM UTC
Last QuarterAugust 27, 1910 9:33 AM ESTAugust 27, 1910 2:33 PM UTC

1911

There was not a blue moon in 1911. Each month had 1 full moon, and each season and 3 full moons.

1912 Blue Moon

The 1912 blue moon was on May 30, 1912 6:29 PM EST or 11:29 PM UTC because it was a second full moon in May. The May 1912 Blue Moon was the sixth full moon in 1912 and the third full moon of the 1912 Spring season. The May 30th full moon was the blue moon in Sagittarius.

The first full moon of the May 1912 was on May 16, 1912 5:13 PM EST or 10:13 PM UTC. The blue moon followed on May 30th.

May 1912 Blue Moon Phases

The Lunar Phases for the 1912 Blue Moon were:

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (US Eastern)UTC Date & Time
New MoonMay 16, 1912 5:13 PM ESTMay 16, 1912 10:13 PM UTC
First QuarterMay 23, 1912 9:11 AM ESTMay 23, 1912 2:11 PM UTC
Full MoonMay 30, 1912 6:29 PM ESTMay 30, 1912 11:29 PM UTC
Last QuarterJune 7, 1912 9:35 PM ESTJune 8, 1912 2:35 AM UTC

1913 Seasonal Blue Moon

The 1913 seasonal blue moon was on May 20, 1913 2:18 AM EST or 7:18 AM UTC. Spring 1913 had four full moons. The May 1913 full moon was the third full moon of the season, making it a seasonal blue moon. The May 20th full moon was the fifth full moon of the year and the blue moon in Scorpio.

Spring 1913 Full Moons

Spring began on March 21st and ended on June 21st (June 22nd UTC) in 1913. The four full moons of Spring 1913 were on:

  1. March 22, 1913 6:56 AM EST or 11:56 AM UTC
  2. April 20, 1913 4:32 PM EST or 9:32 PM UTC
  3. May 20, 1913 2:18 AM EST or 7:18 AM UTC
  4. June 18, 1913 12:53 PM EST or 5:53 PM UTC

May 1913 Seasonal Blue Moon Phases

The Lunar Phases for the 1913 Seasonal Blue Moon were:

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (US Eastern)UTC Date & Time
New MoonMay 6, 1913 3:24 AM ESTMay 6, 1913 8:24 AM UTC
First QuarterMay 13, 1913 6:45 AM ESTMay 13, 1913 11:45 AM UTC
Full MoonMay 20, 1913 2:18 AM ESTMay 20, 1913 7:18 AM UTC
Last QuarterMay 27, 1913 7:03 PM ESTMay 28, 1913 12:03 AM UTC

1914

There was not a blue moon in 1914. Each month had 1 full moon, and each season and 3 full moons.

1915 Blue Moons

In 1915 there were 3 blue moons: January 30, 1915 11:41 PM EST or January 31, 1915 4:41 AM UTC, March 31, 1915 12:37 AM EST or 5:37 AM UTC, and a seasonal blue moon on August 24, 1915 4:40 PM EST or 9:40 PM UTC.

1915 was an unusual year with two months that had two full moons each. There was also a seasonal blue moon during Summer. February did not have a full moon because there was a blue moon in both January and March.

The first blue moon of 1915 was on January 30th (or January 31st UTC), which followed the first full moon of January on January 1, 1915 7:20 AM EST or 12:20 PM UTC. The January 30th blue moon was the second full moon of 1915 and the blue moon in Leo. There was also a Penumbral Lunar Eclipse during the blue moon.

The second blue moon of 1915 was on March 31st, which followed the first full moon of March on March 1, 1915 1:32 PM EST or 6:32 PM UTC. the March 31st blue moon was the fourth full moon of 1915 and the blue moon in Libra. It was also a supermoon and the first full moon of Spring.

The third blue moon of 1915 was a seasonal blue moon on August 24th. Summer had four full moons. The August 1915 full moon was the third full moon of the season, making it a seasonal blue moon. The August 24th full moon was the ninth full moon of the year and the blue moon in Pisces.

Summer 1915 Full Moons

Summer began on June 22nd and ended in the evening on September 23rd (September 24th UTC) in 1915. The four full moons of Summer 1915 were on:

  1. June 26, 1915 11:27 PM EST or June 27, 1915 4:27 AM UTC
  2. July 26, 1915 7:11 AM EST or 12:11 PM UTC
  3. August 24, 1915 4:40 PM EST or 9:40 PM UTC
  4. September 23, 1915 4:35 AM or 9:35 AM UTC

January 1915 Blue Moon Phases

The Lunar Phases for the first 1915 Blue Moon were:

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (US Eastern)UTC Date & Time
New MoonJanuary 15, 1915 9:42 AM ESTJanuary 15, 1915 2:42 PM UTC
First QuarterJanuary 23, 1915 12:32 AM ESTJanuary 23, 1915 5:32 AM UTC
Full MoonJanuary 30, 1915 11:41 PM ESTJanuary 31, 1915 4:41 AM UTC
Last QuarterFebruary 7, 1915 12:11 AM ESTFebruary 7, 1915 5:11 AM UTC

March 1915 Blue Moon Phases

The Lunar Phases for the second 1915 Blue Moon were:

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (US Eastern)UTC Date & Time
New MoonMarch 15, 1915 2:42 PM ESTMarch 15, 1915 7:42 PM UTC
First QuarterMarch 23, 1915 5:47 PM ESTMarch 23, 1915 10:47 PM UTC
Full MoonMarch 31, 1915 12:37 AM ESTMarch 31, 1915 5:37 AM UTC
Last QuarterApril 6, 1915 3:12 PM ESTApril 6, 1915 8:12 PM UTC

August 1915 Seasonal Blue Moon Phases

The Lunar Phases for the third 1915 Blue Moon were:

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (US Eastern)UTC Date & Time
New MoonAugust 10, 1915 5:52 PM ESTAugust 10, 1915 10:52 PM UTC
First QuarterAugust 17, 1915 9:17 PM ESTAugust 18, 1915 2:17 AM UTC
Full MoonAugust 24, 1915 4:40 PM ESTAugust 24, 1915 9:40 PM UTC
Last QuarterSeptember 1, 1915 9:56 AM ESTSeptember 1, 1915 2:56 PM UTC

1916

There was not a blue moon in 1916. Each month had 1 full moon, and each season and 3 full moons.

1917 Blue Moon

The 1917 blue moon was on September 30, 1917 3:31 PM EST or September 30, 1917 8:31 PM UTC because it was a second full moon in September. The September 1917 Blue Moon was the tenth full moon in 1917 and the first full moon of the 1917 Autumn season. The September 30th full moon was the blue moon in Aries.

The first full moon of September 1917 was on September 1, 1917 7:28 AM EST or 12:28 PM UTC. The blue moon followed on September 30th.

September 1917 Blue Moon Phases

The Lunar Phases for the 1917 Blue Moon were:

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (US Eastern)UTC Date & Time
New MoonSeptember 16, 1917 5:27 AM ESTSeptember 16, 1917 10:27 AM UTC
First QuarterSeptember 24, 1917 12:41 AM ESTSeptember 24, 1917 5:41 AM UTC
Full MoonSeptember 30, 1917 3:31 PM ESTSeptember 30, 1917 8:31 PM UTC
Last QuarterOctober 7, 1917 5:14 PM ESTOctober 7, 1917 10:14 PM UTC

1918 Seasonal Blue Moon

The 1918 seasonal blue moon was on August 22, 1918 1:02 AM EDT or 5:02 AM UTC. Summer 1918 had four full moons. The August 1918 full moon was the third full moon of the season, making it a seasonal blue moon.

The August 22nd full moon was the eighth full moon of the year, a supermoon, and the blue moon in Aquarius.

Summer 1918 Full Moons

Summer began on June 22nd and ended on September 23rd in 1918. The four full moons of Summer 1918 were on:

  1. June 24, 1918 6:38 AM EDT or 10:38 AM UTC
  2. July 23, 1918 4:34 PM EDT or 8:34 PM UTC
  3. August 22, 1918 1:02 AM EDT or 5:02 AM UTC
  4. September 20, 1918 9:00 AM EDT or 1:00 PM UTC

August 1918 Seasonal Blue Moon Phases

The Lunar Phases for the 1918 Seasonal Blue Moon were:

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (US Eastern)UTC Date & Time
New MoonAugust 6, 1918 4:29 PM EDTAugust 6, 1918 8:29 PM UTC
First QuarterAugust 14, 1918 7:16 PM EDTAugust 14, 1918 11:16 PM UTC
Full MoonAugust 22, 1918 1:02 AM EDTAugust 22, 1918 5:02 AM UTC
Last QuarterAugust 28, 1918 3:27 PM EDTAugust 28, 1918 7:27 PM UTC

1919

There was not a blue moon in 1919. Each month had 1 full moon, and each season and 3 full moons.

Blue Moon Calendar at a Glance

The seven blue moons of 1910 to 1919 were:

YearDate & Time (US Eastern)UTC Date & TimeBlue Moon Type
1910August 20, 1910 2:14 PM ESTAugust 20, 1910 7:14 PM UTCSeasonal
1912May 30, 1912 6:29 PM ESTMay 30, 1912 11:29 PM UTC2nd full moon in a month
1913May 20, 1913 2:18 AM ESTMay 20, 1913 7:18 AM UTCSeasonal
1915January 30, 1915 11:41 PM ESTJanuary 31, 1915 4:41 AM UTC2nd full moon in a month
1915March 31, 1915 12:37 AM ESTMarch 31, 1915 5:37 AM UTC2nd full moon in a month
1915August 24, 1915 4:40 PM ESTAugust 24, 1915 9:40 PM UTCSeasonal
1917September 30, 1917 3:31 PM ESTSeptember 30, 1917 8:31 PM UTC2nd full moon in a month
1918August 22, 1918 1:02 AM EDTAugust 22, 1918 5:02 AM UTCSeasonal
Blue watercolor of the moon for the dates of the 1910 to 1919 blue moons