Blue Moons 1920 to 1929

From 1920 to 1929 there were seven blue moons. Two full moons in one month is the most common blue moon definition. The other type of blue moon occurs when a season has an extra full moon. A seasonal blue moon is the third full moon in a season which has four full moons.

Between 1920 and 1929 there was a blue moon in 1920, 1921, and 1923, 1924, 1925, 1926, and 1928. 1922, 1927, and 1929 did not have a blue moon.

Interested in learning more about the 1920 to 1929 Blue Moons, check out the calendar below.

Blue watercolor of the moon for the dates of the 1920 to 1929 blue moons

The dates and times provided by NASA for the United States (USA) Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) timezones. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time for reference. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local timezone may be different, the exact dates may shift for your calendar.

1920 Blue Moon

The 1920 blue moon was on July 30, 1920 7:19 PM EDT or 11:19 PM UTC because it was a second full moon in July. The July 1920 Blue Moon was the eighth full moon in 1920 and the second full moon of the 1920 Summer season. The July 30th full moon was the blue moon in Aquarius.

The first full moon of the July 1920 was on July 1, 1920 4:40 AM EDT or 8:40 AM UTC. The blue moon followed on July 30th.

July 1920 Blue Moon Phases

The Lunar Phases for the 1920 Blue Moon were:

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (US Eastern)UTC Date & Time
New MoonJuly 15, 1920 4:25 PM EDTJuly 15, 1920 8:25 PM UTC
First QuarterJuly 22, 1920 3:20 PM EDTJuly 22, 1920 7:20 PM UTC
Full MoonJuly 30, 1920 7:19 PM EDTJuly 30, 1920 11:19 PM UTC
Last QuarterAugust 7, 1920 8:50 AM EDTAugust 7, 1920 12:50 PM UTC

1921 Seasonal Blue Moon

The 1921 seasonal blue moon was on May 21, 1921 4:15 PM EDT or 8:15 PM UTC. Spring 1921 had four full moons. The May 1921 full moon was the third full moon of the season, making it a seasonal blue moon. The May 21st full moon was the fifth full moon of the year and the blue moon in Sagittarius.

Spring 1921 Full Moons

Spring began on March 20th (March 21st UTC) and ended on June 21st in 1921. The four full moons of Spring 1921 were on:

  1. March 23, 1921 3:18 PM EST or 8:18 PM UTC
  2. April 22, 1921 2:49 AM EST or 7:49 AM UTC
  3. May 21, 1921 4:15 PM EDT or 8:15 PM UTC
  4. June 20, 1921 5:41 AM EDT or 9:41 AM UTC

May 1921 Seasonal Blue Moon Phases

The Lunar Phases for the 1921 Seasonal Blue Moon were:

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (US Eastern)UTC Date & Time
New MoonMay 7, 1921 5:01 PM EDTMay 7, 1921 9:01 PM UTC
First QuarterMay 14, 1921 11:24 AM EDTMay 14, 1921 3:24 PM UTC
Full MoonMay 21, 1921 4:15 PM EDTMay 21, 1921 8:15 PM UTC
Last QuarterMay 29, 1921 5:44 PM EDTMay 29, 1921 9:44 PM UTC

1922

There was not a blue moon in 1922. Each month had 1 full moon, and each season and 3 full moons.

1923 Blue Moon

The 1923 blue moon was on April 30, 1923 5:30 PM EDT or 9:30 PM UTC because it was a second full moon in April. The April 1923 Blue Moon was the fifth full moon in 1923 and the second full moon of the 1923 Spring season. The April 30th full moon was the blue moon in Scorpio. It was also a supermoon.

The first full moon of the April 1923 was on April 1, 1923 8:10 AM EST or 1:10 PM UTC. The blue moon followed on April 30th. Both full moons were supermoons in 1923.

April 1923 Blue Moon Phases

The Lunar Phases for the 1923 Blue Moon were:

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (US Eastern)UTC Date & Time
New MoonApril 16, 1923 1:28  AM ESTApril 16, 1923 6:28 AM UTC
First QuarterApril 24, 1923 1:20 AM EDTApril 24, 1923 5:20 AM UTC
Full MoonApril 30, 1923 5:30 PM EDTApril 30, 1923 9:30 PM UTC
Last QuarterMay 7, 1923 2:18 PM EDTMay 7, 1923 6:18 PM UTC

1924 Seasonal Blue Moon

The 1924 seasonal blue moon was on May 18, 1924 5:52 PM EDT or 9:52 PM UTC. Spring 1924 had four full moons. The May 1924 full moon was the third full moon of the season, making it a seasonal blue moon. The May 18th full moon was the fifth full moon of the year and the blue moon in Scorpio. It was also a supermoon.

Spring 1924 Full Moons

Spring began on March 20th and ended on September 21st in 1924. The four full moons of Spring 1924 were on:

  1. March 20, 1924 11:30 PM EST or March 21, 1924 4:30 AM UTC
  2. April 19, 1924 9:10 AM EST or 2:10 PM UTC
  3. May 18, 1924 5:52 PM EDT or 9:52 PM UTC
  4. June 17, 1924 12:41 AM EDT or June 17, 1924 4:41 AM UTC

May 1924 Seasonal Blue Moon Phases

The Lunar Phases for the 1924 Seasonal Blue Moon were:

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (US Eastern)UTC Date & Time
New MoonMay 3, 1924 7:00 PM EDTMay 3, 1924 11:00 PM UTC
First QuarterMay 11, 1924 10:13 PM EDTMay 12, 1924 2:13 AM UTC
Full MoonMay 18, 1924 5:52 PM EDTMay 18, 1924 9:52 PM UTC
Last QuarterMay 25, 1924 10:16 AM EDTMay 25, 1924 2:16 PM UTC

1925 Blue Moon

The 1925 blue moon was on October 31, 1925 12:17 PM EST or 5:17 PM UTC because it was a second full moon in October. The October 1925 Blue Moon was the eleventh full moon in 1925 and the second full moon of the 1925 Autumn season. The October 31st full moon was the blue moon in Taurus.

The first full moon of the October 1925 was on October 2, 1925 12:23 AM EST or 5:23 AM UTC. The blue moon followed on October 31st.

October 1925 Blue Moon Phases

The Lunar Phases for the 1925 Blue Moon were:

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (US Eastern)UTC Date & Time
New MoonOctober 17, 1925 1:06  PM ESTOctober 17, 1925 6:06 PM UTC
First QuarterOctober 24, 1925 1:38  PM ESTOctober 24, 1925 6:38 PM UTC
Full MoonOctober 31, 1925 12:17  PM ESTOctober 31, 1925 5:17 PM UTC
Last QuarterNovember 8, 1925 10:13  AM ESTNovember 8, 1925 3:13 PM UTC

1926 Seasonal Blue Moon

The 1926 seasonal blue moon was on August 23, 1926 8:37 AM EDT or 12:37 PM UTC. Summer 1926 had four full moons. The August 1926 full moon was the third full moon of the season, making it a seasonal blue moon. The August 23rd full moon was the eighth full moon of the year and the blue moon in Aquarius. It was also a supermoon.

Summer 1926 Full Moons

Summer began in the morning on June 22nd and ended on September 23rd in 1926. The four full moons of Summer 1926 were on:

  1. June 25, 1926 5:13 PM EDT or 9:13 PM UTC
  2. July 25, 1926 1:13 AM EDT or 5:13 AM UTC
  3. August 23, 1926 8:37 AM EDT or 12:37 PM UTC
  4. September 21, 1926 4:19 PM EDT or 8:19 PM UTC

August 1926 Seasonal Blue Moon Phases

The Lunar Phases for the 1926 Seasonal Blue Moon were:

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (US Eastern)UTC Date & Time
New MoonAugust 8, 1926 9:48 AM EDTAugust 8, 1926 1:48 PM UTC
First QuarterAugust 16, 1926 12:38 PM EDTAugust 16, 1926 4:38 PM UTC
Full MoonAugust 23, 1926 8:37 AM EDTAugust 23, 1926 12:37 PM UTC
Last QuarterAugust 30, 1926 12:40 AM EDTAugust 30, 1926 4:40 AM UTC

1927

There was not a blue moon in 1927. Each month had 1 full moon, and each season and 3 full moons.

1928 Blue Moon

The 1928 blue moon was on August 30, 1928 10:34 PM EDT or August 31, 1928 2:34 AM UTC because it was a second full moon in August. The August 1928 Blue Moon was the ninth full moon in 1928 and the third full moon of Summer. The August 30th full moon was the blue moon in Pisces.

The first full moon of the August 1928 was on August 1, 1928 11:30 AM EDT or 3:30 PM UTC. The blue moon followed on August 30th (August 31st UTC).

August 1928 Blue Moon Phases

The Lunar Phases for the 1928 Blue Moon were:

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (US Eastern)UTC Date & Time
New MoonAugust 15, 1928 9:48 AM EDTAugust 15, 1928 1:48 PM UTC
First QuarterAugust 23, 1928 4:21 AM EDTAugust 23, 1928 8:21 AM UTC
Full MoonAugust 30, 1928 10:34 PM EDTAugust 31, 1928 2:34 AM UTC
Last QuarterSeptember 6, 1928 6:35 PM EDTSeptember 6, 1928 10:35 PM UTC

1929

There was not a blue moon in 1929. Each month had 1 full moon, and each season and 3 full moons.

Blue Moon Calendar at a Glance

The seven blue moons of 1920 to 1929 were:

YearDate & Time (US Eastern)UTC Date & TimeBlue Moon Type
1920July 30, 1920 7:19 PMJuly 30, 1920 11:19 PM2nd full moon in a month
1921May 21, 1921 4:15 PMMay 21, 1921 8:15 PMSeasonal
1923April 30, 1923 5:30 PMApril 30, 1923 9:30 PM2nd full moon in a month
1924May 18, 1924 5:52 PMMay 18, 1924 9:52 PMSeasonal
1925October 31, 1925 12:17 PMOctober 31, 1925 5:17 PM2nd full moon in a month
1926August 23, 1926 8:37 AMAugust 23, 1926 12:37 PMSeasonal
1928August 30, 1928 10:34 PMAugust 31, 1928 2:34 AM2nd full moon in a month
Blue watercolor of the moon for the dates of the 1920 to 1929 blue moons