1908 New Moons, calendar of new moons in 1908

New Moon Calendar 1908This calendar shows the new moons in 1908, including a April Black Moon and solar eclipses that occurred during the year.

The new moon calendar of the new moon dates in 1908 with exact times and dates when they occurred in the U.S. Eastern Time Zone.

DayDateTimeSeasonSign
FridayJanuary 3, 19084:43 p.m.WinterCapricorn
SundayFebruary 2, 19083:36 a.m.WinterAquarius
MondayMarch 2, 19081:57 p.m.WinterPisces
WednesdayApril 1, 190812:02 a.m.SpringAries
ThursdayApril 30, 190810:33 a.m.SpringTaurus
FridayMay 29, 190810:14 p.m.SpringGemini
SundayJune 28, 190811:31 a.m.SummerCancer
TuesdayJuly 28, 19082:17 a.m.SummerLeo
WednesdayAugust 26, 19085:59 p.m.SummerVirgo
FridaySeptember 25, 19089:59 a.m.AutumnLibra
SundayOctober 25, 19081:46 a.m.AutumnScorpio
MondayNovember 23, 19084:53 p.m.AutumnSagittarius
WednesdayDecember 23, 19086:49 a.m.WinterCapricorn

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

New Moon Information 1908

In 1908 there were 13 new moons. The first new moon of 1908 was on Friday, January 3, 1908.

Dark watercolor of the moon on a starry background for the calendar of 1908 new moons

The dates and times of the new moons in 1908 were:

January 3, 1908 – New Wolf Moon

The new moon in January 1908 was on Friday, January 3, 1908 at 4:43 PM. The New Wolf Moon was the first new moon of Winter. The January 3 New Moon was the new moon in Capricorn.

February 2, 1908 – New Snow Moon

The new moon in February 1908 was on Sunday, February 2, 1908 at 3:36 AM. The New Snow Moon was the second new moon of Winter. The February 2 New Moon was the new moon in Aquarius.

March 2, 1908 – New Worm Moon

The new moon in March 1908 was on Monday, March 2, 1908 at 1:57 PM. The New Worm Moon was the last new moon of Winter. The March 2 New Moon was the new moon in Pisces.

April 1, 1908 – New Pink Moon

The first new moon in April 1908 was on Wednesday, April 1, 1908 at 12:02 AM. The New Pink Moon was the first new moon of Spring. The April 1 New Moon was the new moon in Aries.

April 30, 1908 – New Flower Moon

The second new moon in April 1908 was on Thursday, April 30, 1908 at 10:33 AM. The New Flower Moon was the second new moon of Spring. The April 30 New Moon was the new moon in Taurus.

May 29, 1908 – New Strawberry Moon

The new moon in May 1908 was on Friday, May 29, 1908 at 10:14 PM. The New Strawberry Moon was the last new moon of Spring. The May 29 New Moon was the new moon in Gemini.

June 28, 1908 – New Buck Moon

The new moon in June 1908 was on Sunday, June 28, 1908 at 11:31 AM. The New Buck Moon was the first new moon of Summer. The June 28 New Moon was the new moon in Cancer.

July 28, 1908 – New Sturgeon Moon

The new moon in July 1908 was on Tuesday, July 28, 1908 at 2:17 AM. The New Sturgeon Moon was the second new moon of Summer. The July 28 New Moon was the new moon in Leo.

August 26, 1908 – New Harvest Moon

The new moon in August 1908 was on Wednesday, August 26, 1908 at 5:59 PM. The New Harvest Moon was the last new moon of Summer. The August 26 New Moon was the new moon in Virgo.

September 25, 1908 – New Hunter’s Moon

The new moon in September 1908 was on Friday, September 25, 1908 at 9:59 AM. The New Hunter’s Moon was the first new moon of Autumn. The September 25 New Moon was the new moon in Libra.

October 25, 1908 – New Beaver Moon

The new moon in October 1908 was on Sunday, October 25, 1908 at 1:46 AM. The New Beaver Moon was the second new moon of Autumn. The October 25 New Moon was the new moon in Scorpio.

November 23, 1908 – New Cold Moon

The new moon in November 1908 was on Monday, November 23, 1908 at 4:53 PM. The New Cold Moon was the last new moon of Autumn. The November 23 New Moon was the new moon in Sagittarius.

December 23, 1908 – New Wolf Moon

The new moon in December 1908 was on Wednesday, December 23, 1908 at 6:49 AM. The New Wolf Moon was the first new moon of Winter. The December 23 New Moon was the new moon in Capricorn.

Equinoxes and Solstices

The dates of the equinoxes and solstices in 1908 were:

  • Spring Equinox (Vernal): March 20, 1908 at 7:27 PM
  • Summer Solstice: June 21, 1908 at 3:20 PM
  • Autumnal Equinox: September 23, 1908 at 5:59 AM
  • Winter Solstice: December 22, 1908 at 12:34 AM

New Moon Phases

The new moon phases in 1908 were:

MoonNew MoonFirst QuarterFull MoonLast Quarter
Wolf Moon 1908Fri, January 3, 4:43 p.m.Fri, January 10, 8:53 a.m.Sat, January 18, 8:37 a.m.Sun, January 26, 10:01 a.m.
Snow Moon 1908Sun, February 2, 3:36 a.m.Sat, February 8, 11:28 p.m.Mon, February 17, 4:05 a.m.Mon, February 24, 10:24 p.m.
Worm Moon 1908Mon, March 2, 1:57 p.m.Mon, March 9, 4:42 p.m.Tue, March 17, 9:28 p.m.Wed, March 25, 7:32 a.m.
Pink Moon 1908Wed, April 1, 12:02 a.m.Wed, April 8, 11:31 a.m.Thu, April 16, 11:55 a.m.Thu, April 23, 2:07 p.m.
Flower Moon 1908Thu, April 30, 10:33 a.m.Fri, May 8, 6:23 a.m.Fri, May 15, 11:32 p.m.Fri, May 22, 7:17 p.m.
Strawberry Moon 1908Fri, May 29, 10:14 p.m.Sat, June 6, 11:56 p.m.Sun, June 14, 8:55 a.m.Sun, June 21, 12:26 a.m.
Buck Moon 1908Sun, June 28, 11:31 a.m.Mon, July 6, 3:25 p.m.Mon, July 13, 4:48 p.m.Mon, July 20, 7:02 a.m.
Sturgeon Moon 1908Tue, July 28, 2:17 a.m.Wed, August 5, 4:40 a.m.Tue, August 11, 11:59 p.m.Tue, August 18, 4:25 p.m.
Harvest Moon 1908Wed, August 26, 5:59 p.m.Thu, September 3, 3:50 p.m.Thu, September 10, 7:23 a.m.Thu, September 17, 5:33 a.m.
Hunter’s Moon 1908Fri, September 25, 9:59 a.m.Sat, October 3, 1:13 a.m.Fri, October 9, 4:03 p.m.Fri, October 16, 10:35 p.m.
Beaver Moon 1908Sun, October 25, 1:46 a.m.Sun, November 1, 9:16 a.m.Sun, November 8, 2:58 a.m.Sun, November 15, 6:41 p.m.
Cold Moon 1908Mon, November 23, 4:53 p.m.Mon, November 30, 4:44 p.m.Mon, December 7, 4:44 p.m.Tue, December 15, 4:12 p.m.
Wolf Moon 1909Wed, December 23, 6:49 a.m.Wed, December 30, 12:40 a.m.Wed, January 6, 9:12 a.m. (1909)Thu, January 14, 1:11 p.m. (1909)

What are the phases of the moon?

The four primary phases are the new moon, the first quarter, the full moon, and the last quarter. The minor phases are the waxing crescent, the waxing gibbous, the waning gibbous, and the waning crescent.

The lunar month lasts an average of 29.53 days and begins with the new moon. The first quarter moon occurs between the new moon and the full moon.

A full moon occurs in the middle of the lunar month when the Earth is directly between the Sun and the Moon, so the moon looks completely illuminated. The last quarter moon occurs after the full moon and before the next new moon.

Dark watercolor of the moon on a starry background for the calendar of 1908 new moons


Sources

The dates and exact time provided by NASA for the United States (USA) Eastern Time Zone, including major cities such as New York, unless otherwise stated, and adjusted for Daylight Savings Time for part of the year. Since your local timezone may be different, the exact dates may shift for your calendar. The supermoon calculations are based on those by AstroPixels.