1909 New Moons, calendar of new moons in 1909

New Moon Calendar 1909This calendar shows the new moons in 1909, including a seasonal black moon and solar eclipses that occurred during the year.

The new moon calendar of the new moon dates in 1909 with exact times and dates when they occurred in the U.S. Eastern Time Zone.

DayDateTimeSeasonSign
ThursdayJanuary 21, 19097:12 p.m.WinterCapricorn
SaturdayFebruary 20, 19095:52 a.m.WinterPisces
SundayMarch 21, 19093:11 p.m.SpringAries
MondayApril 19, 190911:51 p.m.SpringAries
WednesdayMay 19, 19098:42 a.m.SpringTaurus
ThursdayJune 17, 19096:28 p.m.SpringGemini
SaturdayJuly 17, 19095:44 a.m.SummerCancer
SundayAugust 15, 19096:55 p.m.SummerLeo
TuesdaySeptember 14, 190910:08 a.m.SummerVirgo
ThursdayOctober 14, 19093:13 a.m.AutumnLibra
FridayNovember 12, 19099:18 p.m.AutumnScorpio
SundayDecember 12, 19092:59 p.m.AutumnSagittarius

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

New Moon Information 1909

In 1909 there were 12 new moons. The first new moon of 1909 was on Thursday, January 21, 1909.

Dark watercolor of the moon on a starry background for the calendar of 1909 new moons

The names and dates of the new moons in 1909 were:

January 21, 1909 – New Snow Moon

The January 1909 New Moon was on Thursday, January 21, 1909 at 7:12 PM EST. The New Snow Moon was the second new moon of Winter. The January New Moon was the new moon in Capricorn.

February 20, 1909 – New Worm Moon

The February 1909 New Moon was on Saturday, February 20, 1909 at 5:52 AM EST. The New Worm Moon was the last new moon of Winter. The February New Moon was the new moon in Pisces.

March 21, 1909 – New Pink Moon

The March 1909 New Moon was on Sunday, March 21, 1909 at 3:11 PM EST. The New Pink Moon was the first new moon of Spring. The March New Moon was the new moon in Aries.

April 19, 1909 – New Flower Moon

The April 1909 New Moon was on Monday, April 19, 1909 at 11:51 PM EST. The New Flower Moon was the second new moon of Spring. The April New Moon was the new moon in Aries.

May 19, 1909 – New Strawberry Moon

The May 1909 New Moon was on Wednesday, May 19, 1909 at 8:42 AM EST. The New Strawberry Moon was the third new moon of Spring. The May New Moon was the new moon in Taurus. As the third new moon in a season with four, the May New Moon was called a seasonal black moon.

June 17, 1909 – New Buck Moon

The June 1909 New Moon was on Thursday, June 17, 1909 at 6:28 PM EST. The New Buck Moon was the last new moon of Spring. The June New Moon was the new moon in Gemini. The June 1909 Solar Eclipse on June 17 was a Hybrid Solar Eclipse.

July 17, 1909 – New Sturgeon Moon

The July 1909 New Moon was on Saturday, July 17, 1909 at 5:44 AM EST. The New Sturgeon Moon was the first new moon of Summer. The July New Moon was the new moon in Cancer.

August 15, 1909 – New Blue Moon

The August 1909 New Moon was on Sunday, August 15, 1909 at 6:55 PM EST. The New Blue Moon was the second new moon of Summer. The August New Moon was the new moon in Leo.

September 14, 1909 – New Harvest Moon

The September 1909 New Moon was on Tuesday, September 14, 1909 at 10:08 AM EST. The New Harvest Moon was the last new moon of Summer. The September New Moon was the new moon in Virgo.

October 14, 1909 – New Hunter’s Moon

The October 1909 New Moon was on Thursday, October 14, 1909 at 3:13 AM EST. The New Hunter’s Moon was the first new moon of Autumn. The October New Moon was the new moon in Libra.

November 12, 1909 – New Beaver Moon

The November 1909 New Moon was on Friday, November 12, 1909 at 9:18 PM EST. The New Beaver Moon was the second new moon of Autumn. The November New Moon was the new moon in Scorpio.

December 12, 1909 – New Cold Moon

The December 1909 New Moon was on Sunday, December 12, 1909 at 2:59 PM EST. The New Cold Moon was the last new moon of Autumn. The December New Moon was the new moon in Sagittarius. The December 1909 Solar Eclipse on December 12 was a Partial Solar Eclipse.

Equinoxes and Solstices

The dates of the equinoxes and solstices in 1909 were:

  • Spring Equinox (Vernal): March 21, 1909 at 1:15 AM EST
  • Summer Solstice: June 21, 1909 at 9:07 PM EST
  • Autumnal Equinox: September 23, 1909 at 11:46 AM EST
  • Winter Solstice: December 22, 1909 at 6:22 AM EST

New Moon Phases

The new moon phases in 1909 were:

MoonNew MoonFirst QuarterFull MoonLast Quarter
Snow Moon 1909Thu, January 21, 7:12 p.m.Thu, January 28, 10:07 a.m.Fri, February 5, 3:24 a.m.Sat, February 13, 7:47 a.m.
Worm Moon 1909Sat, February 20, 5:52 a.m.Fri, February 26, 9:49 p.m.Sat, March 6, 9:55 p.m.Sun, March 14, 10:41 p.m.
Pink Moon 1909Sun, March 21, 3:11 p.m.Sun, March 28, 11:48 a.m.Mon, April 5, 3:28 p.m.Tue, April 13, 9:30 a.m.
Flower Moon 1909Mon, April 19, 11:51 p.m.Tue, April 27, 3:36 a.m.Wed, May 5, 7:07 a.m.Wed, May 12, 4:45 p.m.
Strawberry Moon 1909Wed, May 19, 8:42 a.m.Wed, May 26, 8:27 p.m.Thu, June 3, 8:24 p.m.Thu, June 10, 9:42 p.m.
Buck Moon 1909Thu, June 17, 6:28 p.m.Fri, June 25, 1:43 p.m.Sat, July 3, 7:17 a.m.Sat, July 10, 1:58 a.m.
Sturgeon Moon 1909Sat, July 17, 5:44 a.m.Sun, July 25, 6:45 a.m.Sun, August 1, 4:14 p.m.Sun, August 8, 7:10 a.m.
Blue Moon 1909Sun, August 15, 6:55 p.m.Mon, August 23, 10:55 p.m.Tue, August 31, 12:08 a.m.Mon, September 6, 2:44 p.m.
Harvest Moon 1909Tue, September 14, 10:08 a.m.Wed, September 22, 1:31 p.m.Wed, September 29, 8:05 a.m.Wed, October 6, 1:44 a.m.
Hunter’s Moon 1909Thu, October 14, 3:13 a.m.Fri, October 22, 2:03 a.m.Thu, October 28, 5:07 p.m.Thu, November 4, 4:38 p.m.
Beaver Moon 1909Fri, November 12, 9:18 p.m.Sat, November 20, 12:29 p.m.Sat, November 27, 3:52 a.m.Sat, December 4, 11:12 a.m.
Cold Moon 1909Sun, December 12, 2:59 p.m.Sun, December 19, 9:18 p.m.Sun, December 26, 4:30 p.m.Mon, January 3, 8:27 a.m.

What are the phases of the moon?

The four primary phases are the new moon, the first quarter, the full moon, and the last quarter. The minor phases are the waxing crescent, the waxing gibbous, the waning gibbous, and the waning crescent.

The lunar month lasts an average of 29.53 days and begins with the new moon. The first quarter moon occurs between the new moon and the full moon.

A full moon occurs in the middle of the lunar month when the Earth is directly between the Sun and the Moon, so the moon looks completely illuminated. The last quarter moon occurs after the full moon and before the next new moon.

Dark watercolor of the moon on a starry background for the calendar of 1909 new moons


Sources

The dates and exact time provided by NASA for the United States (USA) Eastern Time Zone, including major cities such as New York, unless otherwise stated, and adjusted for Daylight Savings Time for part of the year. Since your local timezone may be different, the exact dates may shift for your calendar. The supermoon calculations are based on those by AstroPixels.